AusTriathlon Awards 2023: A Night of Celebrations

The AusTriathlon Awards 2023 honoured top athletes and legends, including Chris McCormack's Hall of Fame induction, in a night of celebration and recognition.

AusTriathlon Awards 2023: A Night of Celebrations

The 2023 AusTriathlon Awards, held at the RACV Royal Pines Resort on the Gold Coast, was a celebration of exceptional achievements in the triathlon world. The event, encapsulating the spirit of sportsmanship and excellence, was a gathering of the sport's finest athletes and contributors.

The event was notably highlighted by the presence of renowned figures, including the legendary Chris McCormack, who shared insights from his illustrious career in a recent interview. McCormack's recent induction into the AusTriathlon Hall of Fame was a focal point of the evening, underlining his significant impact on the sport.

World Champions of the year were duly recognised, with Lauren Parker securing her fourth World Triathlon Paratriathlon Champion title and Sophie Linn making history as the first Australian 2023 Esports Triathlon World Champion. The event also honored seven Australian Age Group World Champions: Phoebe Kelly, John Allen, Nicholas Katsilis, Margo Mackintosh, Penelope Nevill, Hannah-Lee Young, and Ana Oerte.

Brad Course received the Chris Hewitt Emerging Athlete Award, joining the ranks of notable previous winners like Erin Densham and Matt Hauser, marking his rise in the World Triathlon racing circuit.

The Performance of the Year Awards celebrated Lauren Parker and Justin Godfrey for their achievements in Paratriathlon. Ashleigh Gentle and Matt Hauser were honored with the Individual Performance of the Year Awards, with Gentle also receiving the Athlete’s Athlete of the Year accolade.

Contributions to the sport were recognized through the Rob George Award, given to Kirrily Guinan and Sue Horsburgh for their roles in the Technical Program. The John Ison Award was bestowed upon Lyndell Murray and Michael Haarsma for their significant technical contributions.

Coaching excellence was celebrated with James Thorp and Michael Pratt winning the Age Group Coach of the Year, Ben Bell receiving the Pathways Coach Recognition Award, and Dan Atkins securing the High Performance Coach Award.

The Services to the Sport Award was given to Robyn Stanley, Melissa Ashton-Garard, and Brian Hinton for their substantial contributions to multisport. Stanley was also celebrated for her long-standing dedication to NT Triathlon and the Darwin Triathlon Club.

The Legend of the Sport Award was presented to Kate Major, Courtney Atkinson, and Janet Ferguson, each leaving a profound legacy in the sport. Major's impressive career included multiple podium finishes at the IRONMAN World Championships, while Atkinson's achievements spanned two Olympic Games and numerous World Cup victories. Ferguson's record as a two-time World Champion and twelve-time national representative further exemplified the night's theme of celebrating greatness.

2023 AusTriathlon Award Winners

AusTriathlon Hall of Fame Inductee:
Chris McCormack

Legend of the Sport Award:
Kate Major
Courtney Atkinson
Janet Ferguson

Services to the Sport Award:
Robyn Stanley
Melissa Ashton-Garard
Brian Hinton

Age Group Coach of the Year:
James Thorp & Michael Pratt

Pathways Coach Recognition:
Ben Bell

High Performance Coach Award:
Dan Atkins

Chris Hewitt Emerging Athlete Award:
Brad Course

Performance of the Year Awards:
Paratriathlon Male: Justin Godfrey
Paratriathlon Female: Lauren Parker
Individual Female : Ashleigh Gentle
Individual Male: Matt Hauser

Athlete’s Athlete of the Year:
Ashleigh Gentle

Rob George Award:
Kirrily Guinan & Sue Horsburgh

John Ison Award:
Lyndell Murray & Michael Haarsma