Braden Currie and Rebecca Clarke Take The Lead At Ironman New Zealand

Braden Currie and Rebecca Clarke lead Ironman New Zealand following the swim leg in Lake Taupō.

Braden Currie and Rebecca Clarke Take The Lead At Ironman New Zealand

Racing is underway at Ironman New Zealand, with Braden Currie and Rebecca Clarke leading the way following the swim leg in Lake Taupō.

Currie and Clarke were the first to exit the water in their respective fields after the 3.8km swim, with athletes now on the 180km bike course. Currie, the defending men’s champion, came out of the water just five seconds ahead of 2019 winner Mike Phillips, with the top two impressing throughout the swim. The lead pair finished the swim almost two and a half minutes clear of fellow Kiwi Matt Kerr, who was followed closely by Jan Van Berkel, 2014 Ironman World Champion Sebastian Kienle and Simon Cochrane.

12-time champion Cameron Brown finished his final Ironman New Zealand swim leg as a professional in 11th, eight minutes off the lead.

Rebecca Clarke pushed ahead early in the women’s race, opening up a solid lead within the first few minutes of the swim. Clarke eventually finished the swim over a minute clear of defending women’s champion Hannah Berry, with American Meredith Kessler a further three minutes behind in third.

Laura Wood was just behind Kessler, with Japan’s Ai Ueda fifth and Dutch athlete Els Visser sixth. Athletes racing at the 39th edition of Ironman New Zealand are now taking on the 180km bike course, before the 42.2km run along the Taupō waterfront.


Professional Men

  1. Braden Currie – 48:02
  2. Mike Phillips – 48:08
  3. Matt Kerr – 50:28
  4. Jan Van Berkel – 50:30
  5. Sebastian Kienle – 50:33
  6. Simon Cochrane – 50:34
  7. Matt Burton – 50:38
  8. Mike Tong – 54:32
  9. Levi Hauwert – 54:57
  10. Lucas Duross – 55:24
  11. Cameron Brown – 56:12
  12. Scott Harpham – 56:36
  13. Jason Christie – 1:07:02

Professional Women

  1. Rebecca Clarke – 50:35
  2. Hannah Berry – 51:46
  3. Meredith Kessler – 54:37
  4. Laura Wood – 54:38
  5. Ai Ueda – 56:34
  6. Els Visser – 57:02
  7. Laura Armstrong – 59:27
  8. Jenny Fletcher – 1:01:37