Top Australian Pros Gear Up for Intense Competition at 2023 Ironman Australia

Ironman Australia will feature an exciting showdown between the country's leading professional athletes, with Tim Van Berkel potentially concluding his career at this highly-anticipated event.

Top Australian Pros Gear Up for Intense Competition at 2023 Ironman Australia
Kylie Simpson winning Ironman Cairns. Photo: Korupt Vision

Why it matters: Australia's top professional male and female triathletes will compete in the 2023 Ironman Australia race in Port Macquarie, showcasing their talent and endurance in a major event.

Setting the pace: The event will cover a 3.8km swim, 180km ride, and 42.2km run, attracting strong competitors such as defending champion Tim Van Berkel and multiple Ironman champion Kylie Simpson.

What they're saying:

  • Tim Van Berkel: "Last year's win was a huge career highlight for me."
  • Steve McKenna: "I’m feeling great, I’ve finally had another good run with no sickness since Ironman 70.3 Geelong."
  • Sam Appleton: "I’m really excited to race Ironman Australia, the preparation has gone really well."
  • Kylie Simpson: "I’m feeling fit and healthy leading into  Australia, and excited to kick my season off in Port Macquarie."

By the numbers:

  • 36th running of Ironman Australia
  • 7 professional female athletes competing
  • 17 professional male athletes competing

Between transition: This year's Ironman Australia will feature a new bike course, taking athletes west of Port Macquarie for the first time.

Through Time: Tim Van Berkel won the 2022 Ironman Australia, his first victory since 2016, while Kylie Simpson claimed the 2021 Cairns Ironman Asia-Pacific Championship and Ironman Western Australia titles.

The bottom line: The 2023 Ironman Australia is an important event for the professional triathletes including Tim Van Berkel who may close out his career at this event, making it a particularly significant day for him.

Ironman Australia – Men’s Professional Field

1 – Tim Van Berkel
2 – Steve McKenna
3 – Sam Appleton
4 – Nicholas Kastelein
5 – Matt Burton
6 – Mitch Kibby
9 – Brodie Gardner
10 – Tuan Chun Chang
11 – Nathan Dortmann
12 – Liam Duval
14 – Scott Harpham
15 – Benjamin Hill
16 – Matt Lewis
17 – Tyla Windham

Ironman Australia – Women’s Professional Field

21 – Kylie Simpson
22 – Radka Kahlefeldt
24 – Meredith Hill
25 – Sarah Thomas
26 – Fiona Moriarty
27 – Shannon Sutton
29 – Chino Iwabuchi