World Champions Iden and Duffy among winners at inaugural Global Triathlon Awards

World Champions Gustav Iden and Dame Flora Duffy among the winners at the star-studded Global Triathlon Awards, recognising outstanding contributions in the sport.

World Champions Iden and Duffy among winners at inaugural Global Triathlon Awards

The Global Triathlon Awards (GTAs) were held in Nice, France and brought together some of the biggest names in the sport, including world champions Gustav Iden and Dame Flora Duffy. The awards ceremony, hosted by Will McCloy and Paula Radcliffe, recognized outstanding contributions across the triathlon industry and was organized in partnership with Super League Triathlon, World Triathlon, Professional Triathlete’s Organisation, France’s Department 06, and Ekoi.

Gustav Iden took home the Male Athlete of the Year award, while Dame Flora Duffy won the Female Athlete of the Year award. Chelsea Sodaro won the Rookie of the Year award and Talbot Cox was named Outstanding Contributor. The Lifetime Kudos Award - Contributor went to Bob Babbitt and the athlete award was given to Nicola Spirig. Other winners included FORM Smart Swim Goggles, Zwift Hub, LEVER System, Maurten Hydrogel and Supersapiens.

Gustav Iden said it was great to be appreciated by his peers and that he felt he was a worthy winner, but so were the other nominees. Dame Flora Duffy was surprised but proud to have won and said it was a special night and hoped it would continue year after year.

All but the Kudos Awards were nominated by the public and then chosen by a panel of industry experts including Jordan Blanco, Stephane Diagana, Emma-Kate Lidbury, Tim Don, and Chelsea Burns.