Top Aussies Plus A Kiwi To Vie for Title at 2023 Ironman 70.3 Geelong

Ironman 70.3 Geelong is set to host 18 professional triathletes, including 16 Australians and a Kiwi, as they compete for the title, with Adelaide's Steve McKenna, the defending champion.

Top Aussies Plus A Kiwi To Vie for Title at 2023 Ironman 70.3 Geelong
Steven McKenna winning Ironman 70.3 Geelong. Photo: Korupt Vision

Why it matters: The 2023 IRONMAN 70.3 Geelong will feature Australia's leading male professional triathletes and a Kiwi in fine form as they compete for the title.

Setting the pace: Adelaide's Steve McKenna, who won the event in 2021 and finished runner-up last year, is hoping to defend his title despite battling illness and injury.

Caleb Noble, third-seeded male, will compete after finishing on the podium at the inaugural Ironman 70.3 Tasmania in February. Meanwhile, hot off the back of an impressive victory at the 2023 Ironman New Zealand earlier this month, Kiwi Mike Phillips will be a real contender for the crown.

What they are saying:

  • "It's been a tough few months trying to stay healthy since Ironman Western Australia in Busselton last December. Being hit by a car whilst riding killed my January training consistency, then multiple head colds and COVID continue turning into small lung infections whilst trying to train through or racing at Victor Harbor last week. I'll finish some antibiotics on Thursday and hopefully have the lungs good to go, of course antibiotics cause other issue with the gut, but despite all of this happening, I have still managed to get very fit, we'll see what effect, if any, this recent medication and sickness has on my Geelong race. I really don't know until I try," said Steve McKenna.
  • "Tasmania was a great course and I thoroughly enjoyed it, I wasn’t expecting to perform the way I did there but learnt valuable lessons on race day to implement this Sunday. I walked away confident of where my fitness was at to help set me up for this block of racing," said Caleb Noble.
  • "That was my main goal for the summer season, so to execute a good race and win was great. Winning at home with family and friends supporting is always that extra special. I’ve been taking it a bit easier the past few weeks, focusing on recovering from the full distance race at Ironman New Zealand. I think if I’m fully recovered, I should be able to have a good race regardless of a light few weeks of training," said Mike Phillips.

By the numbers: The men's field features 16 Australian challengers, and the 18-strong field includes runners-up and top performers such as Mitch Kibby, Charlie Quin, and Nicholas Free.

Mike Phillips (NZL) became a two-time Ironman New Zealand champion at the 2023 event. Photo: Graeme Murray

Between transition: The Ironman 70.3 Geelong is an important race for Steve McKenna, who won his first professional title in 2021. Caleb Noble is feeling good and is excited to see how he performs on his third visit to the race. Mike Phillips is hoping to put in a good performance after taking time to recover from Ironman New Zealand.

The bottom line: The 2023 Ironman 70.3 Geelong will showcase Australia's leading male professional triathletes and a Kiwi in fine form.

Triathlon Through Time:

  • The event has been held annually since 2005, with the exception of 2021 when it was cancelled due to COVID-19.
  • The fastest winning time in the men's race was set by Craig Alexander in 2006, when he finished in 3:40:57. Alexander also won the event in 2011 and 2012, making him one of the most consistent performers in the race's history.
  • Other multiple winners of the men's race include Tim Berkel, Leon Griffin, and Sam Appleton, each of whom has won the event twice.
  • The average winning time for the men's race is just under 3 hours and 50 minutes (3:49:52).

Men’s Professional Start List

1 – Steve McKenna (Australia)

2 – Mitch Kibby (Australia)

3 – Caleb Noble (Australia)

4 – Mike Phillips (New Zealand)

5 – Charlie Quin (Australia)

6 – Nicholas Free (Australia)

7 – Jack Sosinski (Australia)

8 – Matthew Roberts (Australia)

9 – Calvin Amos (Australia)

10 – Kevin Collington (United States of America)

11 – Levi Hauwert (Australia)

12 – Ben Hill (Australia)

14 – Blake Kappler (Australia)

15 – Nathaniel Lindsay (Australia)

16 – Hamish Longmuir (Australia)

17 – Jarrod Osborne (Australia)

18 – Tyla Windham (Australia)

19 – Kyle Wylde (Australia)