This Weekend’s Capricorn Resort Ironman 70.3 Yeppoon Boasts a Quality Pro Field

A full field, and a solid professional triathlete entry are precursors to the inaugural Capricorn Resort Ironman 70.3 Yeppoon set for August 14th. It is shaping up as a real battle bewteen the Kiwis and Aussies and with $15,000 USD prize money plus points for the 70.3 world champs in Las Vegas the p

A full field, and a solid professional triathlete entry are precursors to the inaugural Capricorn Resort Ironman 70.3 Yeppoon set for August 14th.

With the 2011 event a qualifying race to the Ironman 70.3 World Championship in Lake Las Vegas, USA; a qualifying event to the Asia Pacific Ironman 70.3 Championship in Thailand and the Queensland Long Distance Championship and the prize money on offer it’s no wonder this is the best pro field ever assembled at Yeppoon.

The big question is will last weekend’s demolition of the Wallabies by the All Blacks be enough to fire the Aussies up or will it really be the $15,000 in prize money and the points towards Las Vegas that will get the pro field going?

Heading the field of competitors this year are some of Australia’s and New Zealand’s finest pro athletes, including previous winners Leon Griffin (2005), Matty White (2009) and Lisa Marangon (2009). All three have gone on to forge successful international pro careers in the sport. Griffin to win a World Championship in Duathlon, Marangon to win the prestigious OSIM Triathlon in Singapore, just last weekend!

But, all three will be hard pressed by a pro field full of fast talent.

In the men’s race look for Ollie Whistler (winner of the Canberra Half Ironman), New Zealand’s Keiren Doe, and speedy Kiwi brothers, Mark Bowstead. James returns after splitting the race wide open in 2010 when he swum and rode away from the field only to find the run harder than he wished. He’s looking to not make that mistake twice! James Bowstead is a late withdrawal after rolling his ankle and suffering tendon damage.

Other speedy Aussie pro triathletes include Luke Whitmore, Adam Holborow and Nathan Stewart with Richard Munro, Richard Thompson and new comer Matt Bailey keen to make their mark in the pro ranks too.

The women’s race is shaping as a show down between Marangon, and two times Canberra Half Ironman winner, Michelle Wu. Both are coming off the back of a solid international season and both have been trading International race wins this season. But don’t rule out Rachael Paxton and Renee Lane, with New Zealand’s Elaine Brent an unknown quantity in the female field.

Behind the pro athletes are near 700 fast age groupers; racing for a PB (personal best time) and the bragging rights of race completion over this awesome distance. Competitors are this year drawn from six countries (including all Australian states and territories).

A record number of international athletes will travel to Yeppoon, the first of what is expected to be a growing number of internationals being attracted annually to the Capricorn Coast and by qualifying spots to the Ironman World Championship 70.3, and the amazing Capricorn Resort based event and local scenery.

“We expect that the second decade of this race will see it firmly established as an international race with an ever growing number of international visitors and competitors given the amazing course and area in which the event is based,” says Race Director, Nick Munting. “In its first decade the race grew from under 100 entries to a sell out event. Now in its second decade, and now as part of the global Ironman 70.3 family, we are set to further develop the race, with an extension to the bike course, to allow more athletes to compete on the Capricorn Coast.”

Using the long proven swim, ride and run course, based at the Capricorn Resort, competition will commence at 8:00am Sunday August 14th. A straight line down current 1.9km swim from Bangalee to the Resort will bring participants to the Resort lawns and transition to the 90km ride on Resort roads and into Yeppoon via Farnbourgh / Yeppoon Byfield Road, and return to the Resort before competitors head into the final leg, a half marathon through roads and trails within the 22,000 hectare Capricorn Resort that will ultimately bring them to the unique finish line situated between the Resort swimming pools.

The winner is expected to break four hours, back markers will have 7.5 hours in which to finish.

Local roads will remain largely unaffected with a contra-flow established on Farnborough Road and to keep traffic moving to the north of Yeppoon but residents are urged to check traffic conditions between 8:00am and 1.30pm Sunday August 14th to ensure the least community impact.

Already Yeppoon accommodation is reportedly filling fast, with the Resort also booked out for this first international race that attracts as many more supporters than it does competitors! Around 2000 visitors are expected to swell the local communities during the event weekend as family and friends escape the southern winter to spend a few days on the Capricorn Coast.


Organisers, X-Tri Australia are looking for a few good local people across the event weekend to assist as event volunteers; and you can access more information on volunteer roles and benefits through the event website.

Individual, and team entries, for the event are closing shortly, and as with all event information can be made or found within the event web address at

There will be a gala day at the Capricorn Resort surrounding the event; but note that entry to the resort will be restricted between 8:15am and 1:30pm.


X-Tri Australia is an event organiser with three licensed Ironman 70.3 races based in Australia and Singapore. They also organise events in the national Weet-Bix Kids TRYathlon program, the City Mile Dash and are also involved in various running and multisport events nationally.

Pro Field – Capricorn Resort Ironman 70.3 Yeppoon

1    Matty    White    SA    AUS
2    Ollie    Whistler    NSW    AUS
3    Keiren    Doe    NZL    NZL
4    Leon    Griffin    VIC    AUS
5    Mark    Bowstead    NZL    NZL
6    James    Bowstead    NZL    NZL (withdrawal due to rolled ankle and tendon damage)
7    Luke    Whitmore    VIC    AUS
8    Adam    Holborow    NSW    AUS
9    Nathan    Stewart    NSW    AUS
10    Richard    Munro    NSW    AUS
11    Richard    Thompson    QLD    AUS

12    Matt    Bailey    VIC    AUS


15    Lisa    Marangon    NSW    AUS
16    Michelle    Wu    ACT    AUS
17    Rachael    Paxton    QLD    AUS
18    ELLY    FRANKS    VIC    AUS
19    Renee    Lane    VIC    AUS
20    Elaine    Brent    NZL    NZL