Nepean Triathlon winners back to claim more titles

2011 Nepean winner Tim Reed has entered to defend his title and following his victory in the Yeppoon 70.3 is on form to post back to back victories. 2010 Nepean winner Michelle Wu and Yeppoon 70.3 ladies champion Lisa Marangon will be pushing the pace for the ladies in an attempt to claim the handicap bonus for first athlete over the line. The men’s wave will start 10 minutes 53 seconds behind the ladies wave with the winning male or female across the line winning an additional $1,000 on top of big prize money on offer.

Early days for Melissa Hauschildt – 2010

Previous Nepean champions have entered including three time winner Nick Hornman (2003,2004,2006) two time winners Louise Mackinlay (1988,1989) Trent Chapman (1997,2001) and Leigh Chapman (1999,2000) and Adrian Cominotto (2005) and Brittany Orr (2005) all racing together with Tim Reed (2011) and Michelle Wu (2010). Also entered and making a return to triathlon is noted runner and City to Surf female winner, Melinda Vernon.

Another interesting entrant is US professional triathlete, Tommy Zaferes, who won the 2011 Alcatrez Triathlon and a number of other US races. Zaferes, who trains in the States with NZ professional Bryan Rhodes was a Olympic trials swimmer before turning to Triathlon and will come to Penrith after competing for the US in the World Championships in Auckland the week before Nepean.

And last but not least, and to scare the pants of all competitors, Melissa Hauschildt is hinting she may come back in 2012.


Click here for full details and to enter

Sunday, October 28, 2012.



Karl Hayes

Head of Rest and Recovery

Karl is a keen age group triathlete who races more than he trains. Good life balance! Karl works in the media industry in Australia and is passionate about the sport of triathlon.