Pete Jacobs and Erin Densham the big winners at Triathlon Australia’s Champions Awards Night

Hawaiian Triathlon World Champion Pete Jacobs and London Olympic bronze medallist Erin Densham were the two big winners when the triathlon royalty gathered on the Sunshine Coast tonight for the sport’s Celebration of Champions Annual Awards Dinner.

It was also a special night for one of the legends of the sport when “The Croc” Brad Beven was inducted into the Triathlon Australia Hall of Fame where he joins his contemporaries Greg Welch and Miles Stewart as well as Michellie Jones and last year’s inductees Jackie Gallagher, Loretta Harrop and Emma Carney as the seventh inductee in Triathlon Australia’s select club.

Jacobs, who joined Australians Welch, Chris McCormack and Craig Alexander as the only the fourth Australian male to win the coveted Kona Ironman was one of five world champions recognised on the night – a list that also included:

Bill Chaffey – 2012 ITU Paratriathlon
Chris McCormack – 2012 ITU Long Distance
Aaron Royle – 2012 ITU U23 and;
Felicity Sheedy-Ryan – 2012 ITU Duathlon

The 30-year-old from Sydney’s Northern Beaches was then named the Male Athlete of the Year ahead of Chaffey, McCormack, Royle and Alexander.

Jacobs was unable to attend the evening as he is in the US where he has been racing but sent a message to Triathlon Australia.

“My apologies for not being able to attend the night and I am deeply humbled to be recognised by Triathlon Australia and also to be named the Male Performer of the Year from such an amazing field,” Jacobs said.

“I knew I had to work as hard as I could to reach my goal of winning in Hawaii and I was so pleased that all that hard work payed off in the end.

“It has been an amazing ride and I still have to pinch myself to realise that I’m not dreaming and I really did win that race.

“I have to thank everyone at Triathlon Australia and all the triathletes, particularly guys like Macca and Crowie – who are absolutely amazing athletes and to be recognised alongside them is something I will hold close to my heart forever.

“To everyone there tonight have a great night’s celebration and I hope to catch up with you all real soon.”

Densham was not only named Best Female Performer for her sterling performance to win the Olympic bronze medal in a dramatic sprint finish in London but she was also named the Athletes Athlete of the Year.

Among those nominations for the prestigious Athletes Athlete Award were Mirinda Carfrae, Felicity Sheedy-Ryan, Ashleigh Gentle, Pete Jacobs, Chris McCormack, Craig Alexander, Bill Chaffey and Aaron Royle.

Densham showed all her git determination to not only make the 2012 Olympic Team but also win the ITU World Championship Series round in Sydney and she led the ITU World Series until the final round in Auckland where she gave a stirring speech to over 1000 Australian athletes who gathered in Auckland for the World Championships.


2012 Elite World Champions

Bill Chaffey – 2012 ITU Paratriathlon
Chris McCormack – 2012 ITU Long Distance
Aaron Royle – 2012 ITU U23
Felicity Sheedy-Ryan – 2012 ITU Duathlon
Pete Jacobs – 2012 Ironman World Champion

John Ison Award for Technical Official of the Year: John Treloar (VIC).

Age Group Coach of the Year: Matthew Dymond (Coogee Triathlon Club, NSW).

Service to the Sport Award: Long time Race Directors,  Garth Prowd and David Hansen are the inaugural winners of this new award.

Triathlon Australia Life membership: Brian Hinton.

Chris Hewitt Emerging athlete award: Aaron Royle (NSW): 1st U23 ITU World Championships & 3rd ITU Oceania Championships & 11th Stockholm ITU World Triathlon Series

Female performance of the year Award: Erin Densham (NSW) – 3rd London Olympics & 1st Sydney ITU World Triathlon Series.

Male performance of the year Award: Pete Jacobs – 1st Hawaii Ironman World Championships

Athlete’s athlete of the year award: Erin Densham

Karl Hayes

Head of Rest and Recovery

Karl is a keen age group triathlete who races more than he trains. Good life balance! Karl works in the media industry in Australia and is passionate about the sport of triathlon.