Atmosphere Nepean Triathlon 2015 – Professional triathletes vying for a share of $76,500

Racing for a share of the $76,500 on offer tomorrow at the Penrith Regatta Centre are some of Australia’s fastest triathletes. Defending champions Aaron Royle and Ashleigh Gentle will have their work cut out once again with some other very fast triathletes vying for the top spot and a shot at the $2000 handicap bonus. This has been won by the women the last two years but this year could be the guys chance to take the prize back. 2010 winner Brendan Sexton will be looking for a a repeat 5 years on to take the prize money and bonus and finish off 2015 on a high. 2013 female champion Emma Moffatt is back racing and along with Emma Pallant, Charlotte McShane and Natalie Van Coevorden will be pushing to claim the top spots. (full start list below).

Hoping to upset Sexton and Royle are Ryan Fisher, Jacob Birtwhistle, Stuart Hayes and long course triathletes (and Aaron Royle’s housemates) David Mainwaring and Matthew Pellow (full start list below).

As always everyone in triathlon has great admiration for the major sponsors Atmosphere Health and Fitness Club, Cellabrations and Gulf Western Oil who have made the Nepean Triathlon one of the richest triathlons in Australia if not the richest. The people behind these companies are arguably some of the most passionate triathletes in Australia and they put their money where their mouths are and make this day each year very rewarding for the top 10 male and female professional triathletes.

Prize Money – 2015 Nepean Triathlon.

  • 1st Male and Female – $14,000
  • 2nd Male and Female – $8,000
  • 3rd Male and Female – $4,000
  • 4th Male and Female – $3,000
  • 5th Male and Female – $2,500
  • 6th Male and Female – $2,000
  • 7th Male and Female – $1,500
  • 8th Male and Female – $1,000
  • 9th Male and Female – $750
  • 10th Male and Female – $500

Outright Handicap bonus – $2000 (details below)

Oldest finisher – $100 (kindly donated by Nepean legend Peter Smith)


More about the outright handicap bonus

An exciting feature in the Atmosphere Nepean Triathlon is the handicap. The Professional ladies wave will start ahead of the Male professional wave by the difference between the leading male and female averaged over the past five years.  With a handicap bonus of $2,000 for the winning male or female we should have a great sprint for the line in the finish straight! The differences over the past 5 years have been:

2010 – Brendan Sexton ahead of Michelle Wu by 696 seconds (Handicap won by Michelle)
2011 – Tim Reed over Melissa Rollison by 561 seconds (Handicap won by Melissa)
2012 – Courtney Atkinson over Rachel Klamer by 656 seconds (Handicap won by Courtney)
2013 – Aaron Royle over Emma Moffatt by 484 seconds (Handicap won by Emma)
2014 – Aaron Royle over Ashleigh Gentle by 574 seconds (Handicap won by Ashleigh)

Therefore the handicap difference for 2015 averaged over the previous 5 years will be 594 seconds or 9 minutes 54 seconds. If conditions do not allow the handicap to be run, $1000 will be added to the existing $14,000 prize money for both the male and female winners.


Surname First Name Age group
AMBERGER JOSH Male Professionals
BAKER MATT Male Professionals
BIRTWHISTLE JACOB Male Professionals
CANNON WILLIAM Male Professionals
FISHER RYAN Male Professionals
GOODYEAR BRADY Male Professionals
HAYES STUART Male Professionals
MAINWARING DAVID Male Professionals
PELLOW MATTHEW Male Professionals
RAPLEY LIAM Male Professionals
ROCHE KIERAN Male Professionals
ROYLE AARON Male Professionals
SEXTON BRENDAN Male Professionals
SHAW BEN Male Professionals
SOMI DAUDI Male Professionals
BREMER MICHELLE Female professionals
FORREST ANDREA Female professionals
GENTLE ASHLEIGH Female professionals
JEFFCOAT EMMA Female professionals
LESTER SARAH Female professionals
MCSHANE CHARLOTTE Female professionals
MOANA-VEALE TAMSYN Female professionals
MOFFATT EMMA Female professionals
MUSGROVE GRACE Female professionals
PALLANT EMMA Female professionals
SALTHOUSE ELLIE Female professionals
STOTT GEORGIA Female professionals
VAN COEVORDEN NATALIE Female professionals
VERNON MELINDA Female professionals
HOITINK GRACE Female professionals


Previous Post

Specialized to bring the Isuzu Sales Kiosk to Australian Events

Next Post

Matt Sharp and Yuka Sato win Tongyeong ITU World Cup

Related Posts