ITU Unveils Schedule for 2011 Dextro Energy Triathlon ITU World Championship Series

The International Triathlon Union (ITU) today announced the 2011 dates and cities for the Dextro Energy Triathlon ITU World Championship Series. The world’s finest triathletes will vie for the title of 2011 World Champion along with 2012 Olympic qualifying points in ITU’s premier series.

2011 Dextro Energy Triathlon ITU World Championship Series:

  • April 9-10: Sydney, Australia
  • May 14-15: Yokohama, Japan
  • June 4-5: Madrid, Spain
  • June 18-19: Kitzbühel, Austria
  • July 16-17: Hamburg, Germany
  • August 6-7: London, Great Britain
  • Grand Final – September 10-11: Beijing, China

Emma MoffattThe Series travels to a trio of Olympic cities including London on the first weekend of August. It will be the final time athletes can race the course before the 2012 Olympic Games. Sydney, the site of the first Olympic Games triathlon, will open the Series for the second straight year in April. While Beijing will host the Grand Final, marking the first time the 2008 Olympic Games triathlon course will be raced.

“As we move closer to the 2012 Olympic Games, ITU is pleased to offer a world class series that showcases our extraordinary athletes in some truly spectacular cities,” said Marisol Casado, ITU President and IOC Member. “2010 was a phenomenal year for triathlon and we’re excited to build on that momentum to propel us to another wonderful season in 2011.”

ITU SydneyAll elite women’s and men’s races will be broadcast live to an international audience and streamed online. In 2009, the Series was broadcast in more than 60 countries.

“The level of competition is what makes this Series so amazing,” said Javier Gomez, the 2008 and 2010 World Champion. “Next season will be very competitive because the year before the Olympic Games is so important. Going into any of these races, I know I’ll be tested by the course and my peers.”

“I know it’ll be tough to try and win a third world championship but I’m excited for the challenge in these amazing cities where there’s always great support,” said Emma Moffatt, World Champion in 2009 and 2010. “Opening the Series at home in Australia and closing it in Beijing (where I won Olympic bronze) is a real treat for me.”

ITU launched the Dextro Energy Triathlon ITU World Championship Series in 2009, expanding the former single-day World Championship race. Points are accrued throughout the season and athletes who win the overall Series are crowned the ITU Triathlon World Champions.

For more information go to



More Stories
Callum Millward looking for respect at Port of Tauranga Half Ironman